24th Athens International Film Festival

International Competition

Ari Folman (President of the Jury)

Director, President of the Jury Ari Folman, 56, is an Israeli film director, screenwriter and film score composer. He is best known for directing his animated film Waltz With Bashir as well as directing the live-action/animated film The Congress. He currently plans to direct an animated drama film based on the life of Anne Frank. 

Natascha Gikas

German Film Museum Curator Natascha Gikas studied sociology and theatre, film and television studies in Frankfurt am Main. Since 1991 she has worked as a cinema programmer; since 1995 she worked in the German Film Museum in the conception and curating of cinema series. Since 2016 she is Head of Cinema at the German Film Museum. 

Mark Smith

Amsterdam-based Mark Smith is a freelance journalist and a contributing editor at Fantastic Man magazine. He has edited Time Out Amsterdam and COS magazine, and his film- related features have appeared in publications including The Times and Elle UK. He has served as a juror for the Queer Lion award at the VIFF. 

Helen De Witt

Helen de Witt is a UK- based curator, lecturer and writer. She teaches at Birkbeck University of the Arts London and at the National Film and Television School. She is a program advisor for the BFI London Film Festival and a director of Service Co-op independent production company. 

Makis Gazis

Studied in the Stavrakos School of Cinema in Athens and in NFTS in London and worked as casting director. Collaborated with acclaimed Greek and foreign directors (Panousopoulos, Tseberopoulos, Panagiotopoulos, Spielberg, Mendes and Akin). 

Documentaries - International Competition

Menelaos Karamaghiolis (President of the Jury)

Lives in Athens. His cinema, starring anti-heroes, abolishes boundaries and stereotypes. He has received several international awards for his films ( ROM 1989, Black Out (p.s. Red Out), and J.A.C.E. – Just Another Confused Elephant, (TIFF). His video art has been shown at the National Museum of Modern Art and at Biennale di Venezia. 


Simran Hans

Simran Hans is a culture writer and film critic for The Observer. Her work has been published in BuzzFeed, Cinema Scope, The Guardian, Interview, Little White Lies, Mubi, New Statesman, Pitchfork, Sight & Sound and Variety among others

Evangelia Kranioti

Born in Greece. In 2014 she graduated in film at Le Fresnoy. Her feature film debut Exotica, Erotica, etc. screened in the 2015 Berlinale Forum and her second film Obscuro Barroco in the 2018 Berlinale Panorama. 

Antje Ehmann

Curator, author. Based in Berlin. She has participated in artistic projects for the Berlin festival as well as in a series of publications (What Do You Call This Thing I Am Missing? Forum Expanded 2015) among others. 

Gürcan Keltek

Born in İzmir in 1973, studies film at DEU Fine Arts. His short, Overtime is selected at several festivals including Visions Du Réel and DOK Leipzig, while his medium-length Colony screened at FIDMarseille. Meteors is his first feature film. 

Greek Short Stories

Elina Psychou (President of the Jury)

Born in Athens where she studied film direction. She has written and directed two feature films and two shorts. 

Marina Kalogirou

She studied at the Athens Acting School of Modern Theatre (G. Kimoulis). Since 1996 she has starred in 11 films, theatre plays and several TV shows. Since 2014 she conducts seminars for actors. 


Lambis Haralampidis

He studied Directing and Editing for Film and Television in Athens. He started working as an assistant editor in 1998. He has worked at 20 feature films and has won three Greek Academy Awards for Best Editing in Feature Film.

Marina Konti

She stared working as a film distributor in 2000 for Prooptiki. Three years later I she collaborated with the Greek Film Centre and co-founded Filmcenter. Since 2010 she's back to film distributing for StraDa Films. 

Thodoris Dimitropoulos

Programmer for the 14th AIFF, film critic for ETHNOS newspaper and TV critic for Flix.gr. 

Greek Newcomers (Director and Actors)

Syllas Tzoymerkas (President of the Jury)

Syllas Tzoumerkas was born in 1978. He writes, directs and acts for cinema and theatre. He is currently completing “The Miracle of the Sargasso Sea”, his new film after “Homeland” (2010) and “A Blast” (2014).

Yannis Kokiasmenos

Yannis Kokiasmenos was born in Athens in 1961. He studied English Language and Literature. He is a horse-riding instructor and an actor. In 2017 his first book was published by ‘Okto Publishing’, called ‘Imeri Disi’ (Tame West). 

Dora Masklavanou

She was born in Kavala and studied in Athens. She worked as an actress, presenter, state-radio producer, and director, screenwriter and documentary editor for the Hellenic Broadcasting Corporation. 

Yagos Antiochos

He was born in Athens, in 1978.. During 2007 and 2008 he worked as an edi- tor in “Cinema” magazine and since 2017, he has been on the Board of the Pan-Hellenic Cinema Crit- ics Association, member of the International Federation of Film Critics (FIPRESCI). 

Phaedra Vokali

Studied Film at UCL, as a post-graduate fellow student of State Scholar- ship Foundations. She has worked in the field of distribution, in film reviewing and festivals. As of 2013 she is the producer and director of Marni Films, in the creation of more than 30 internationally awarded short and feature films.

    Publication date: 2018-09-11 22:59:20